The Lincoln Forum Book Prize

The Lincoln Forum is now accepting submissions for its annual book prize. To honor outstanding scholarship on the life and career of our nation’s sixteenth president, The Lincoln Forum offers an annual book prize of $1,000 for a distinguished book published on Abraham Lincoln in which he is a central figure. The book prize, inaugurated in 2019, will be awarded annually during the Lincoln Forum Symposium. 

Past Winners
2021 James Oakes, The Crooked Path to Abolition
2020 Ted Widmer, Lincoln on the Verge: Thirteen Days to Washington
2019 Sidney Blumenthal, A Self-Made Man: The Political Life of Abraham Lincoln, Vol. 1


General rules of submissions are:


  1. Biographies, monographs, works of synthesis and interpretation, edited collections of original papers, and documentary editing projects, published in the English language, are eligible.  

  2. Only books published during the period between March 2021 through May 2022 will be considered.

  3. One printed copy of each entry, along with a cover letter nominating the work for the award, must be sent to each committee member and clearly labeled “Lincoln Forum Book Prize Entry,” no later than June 1, 2022. Entries will not be returned.


Names /contact information of committee members:


Thomas A. Horrocks, Ph.D.

11A Brewer Street

Cambridge, MA 02138


Michelle Krowl, Ph.D.

129 S. Park Drive

Arlington, VA 22204


Christian McWhirter, Ph.D.

1324 Community Drive

Springfield, IL 62703


Daniel R. Weinberg

Abraham Lincoln Book Shop, Inc.

824 W. Superior Street, Suite 100

Chicago, IL 60642


The winner of the book prize will be announced by The Lincoln Forum at its annual symposium and via its website, and other social media and other news outlets. The winner will be invited to present a paper at the Forum symposium, with expenses paid that cover travel, hotel accommodations, and symposium registration.

IMG_8563 BookPrize.jpg
2021 Lincoln Forum Book Prize winner James Oakes for The Crooked Path to Abolition: (L to r) Harold Holzer, Michelle Krowl, Daniel Weinberg, Tom Horrocks, James Oakes, Christian McWhirter, Jonathan White.